I love you too, Bridget bear

In my time as a mom, I have experienced amazing moments: the first time I held Bridget in my arms, rocked her to sleep, watched her roll over, crawl, and take her first steps. And then there’s the long hug to welcome me when I pick her up from daycare, the conversations on our drive home when she tells me all about her day and we giggle even though neither of us know what she’s saying, and reading her favorite stories before bedtime. There’s the throw-her-head-back laughter when I play “Santa” with bubbles at bath time, or watching her and Daddy knuckle-bump and simultaneously say “boom”. There’s been so many amazing moments.

But perhaps my most favorite is hearing Bridget’s new(ish) four word sentence: “I love you, Mommy,” “I love you, Daddy,” “I love you, puppy.” These words echo through our house, over and over again, and it generates an instant smile on my face every time.

Early motherhood is rewarding in subtle ways. 3 AM wake up calls don’t scream “thank you”. Dirty diapers can feel like a tiresome routine. And the regular hunt for something anything that a picky toddler will eat can be challenging. But then there are these amazing moments that bring you back to reality. The reality that motherhood is a blessing; a privilege; an opportunity to do something meaningful, with greater purpose than your own.

And there’s nothing more rewarding than that high-pitched “I love you, Mommy.”

20140304-214844.jpg

Bridget trying on my boots. Don’t worry, she didn’t get far in them.

One thought on “I love you too, Bridget bear

Leave a Reply

