My 2013 magazine cover

For our last date, Brian and I went to see The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. I am a sucker for Ben Stiller movies, and it was just the light-hearted, feel good kind of movie I was hoping it would be. Without sharing too many details of the plot, it’s a story about the cover image of the final LIFE magazine, and the journey to find the perfect image.

While sifting through the hundreds of photos from 2013 in an attempt to create an album for my sister-in-law for a family photo calendar (sorry, Leslie – I’m still working on that), I came across this photo. It was taken on May 28, the day before Bridget’s first birthday. I was testing out my camera settings before I took Bridget outside for her first birthday photo shoot, while she watched me from the front door.

DSC_1141 - Copy

It wasn’t planned. She wasn’t dressed in her photo best. And it didn’t make the “album” of my amateur photo shoot. But it makes me smile from ear to ear, while the Lonestar lyrics of “My Front Porch Looking In”play in my head.

My blessings are in front of me, it’s not about the land
I’ll never beat the view from my front porch looking in

If my 2013 could be summed up as a magazine cover, this would be it. The view of big B, little B, and Josie Bear smiling my way.

One thought on “My 2013 magazine cover

Leave a Reply

