Christmas 2013 recap

Another Christmas has come and gone, and it makes me sad every year. It’s such a happy time of year, and a chance to visit with friends and family who we don’t see as often as we’d like. But this year, I am mostly sad to see it go for Bridget.

She loved Christmas: the tree, lights, ornaments, Nipper, and the songs. It is true what they say; experiencing Christmas through a child is like living it all over again yourself…but better.

This Christmas was memorable for so many reasons. Here are just a few:

Bridget had her first “dance recital”. Yes, you read that correctly. She’s been taking a dance class for several weeks at daycare and they shared their talents in front of dozens of people. It was so cute, and she seemed to really enjoy it.

PicMonkey Collage_Recital

Two of my cousins welcomed new babies this year, making six great grandchildren for these two gems of grandparents. They’re celebrating 63 years of marriage this February. What a beautiful sight, indeed.

DSC_2626

We hosted Christmas Eve at our house again this year. It was a wonderful day with my family. And, I cooked my very first turkey. I don’t want to brag, but my mom said it was the best tasting turkey she ever had. She’s not biased or anything, either.

DSC_2655

Four generations of my family are in this photo, and I just love everything about it. I hope there will be many, many more of its kind.

DSC_2667

Waking up Christmas morning and watching Bridget open her presents from Santa brought back so many memories from my childhood. It was such a privilege to provide the same excitement for Bridget as I remember. Here are a few of the goodies, one of which we gave a little early…we just couldn’t wait.

PicMonkey Collage_Morning

Bridget and her cousins have so much fun at Grandma and Grandpa’s. Here are a few pictures of the beautiful chaos that ensues with 10 grandkids and 14 adults.

PicMonkey Collage

And all of this completely exhausted Bridget who fell asleep within five minutes of our trek home.

sleeping

Merry belated Christmas and happy New Year to all!

Leave a Reply

