Fall family photos

Last year, I shared our family fall photo session. I had every intention of making this an annual family tradition, but I kept putting it off this fall. Maybe it was because of weekend plans, the weather, etc., but probably because I knew I would end up frustrated that we couldn’t get Bridget to sit still long enough to smile for the camera.

Because of my interest in photography, I follow dozens of photographers on Facebook; many of whom post these lovely photos of families standing on a bridge or next to a fence, or calmly sitting together on a blanket. Seriously? I can barely get Bridget to sit still long enough to put her shoes on and the only way I am getting her to smile at a camera is if I sneak it quickly while making the sound of “zzzzzzz.”

When the forecast earlier this week turned awful, I knew that if I wanted any pictures of her outside this fall, I had better give it a shot. So we rushed home after work and daycare, grabbed a bite to eat, and changed into the only clean, decent outfit I could find. We loaded Bridget up in the stroller, Kix and camera in hand, and headed to our nearby walking trail.

It went mostly as I had anticipated, proving correct my decision not to pay a professional to do it for us. Since it was only us three, we didn’t get a family shot, unfortunately (I still haven’t figured out that self-timer feature), but we managed to snap a few keepers between the chaos.

Bridget responded better to Brian behind the camera so here's her first look-back at him.
Bridget responded better to Brian behind the camera so here’s her first look-back at him.
I could just eat her up!
I could just eat her up!
My girl and me flashing Daddy our best smile.
My girl and me flashing Daddy our best smile.
I just adore this picture.
I just adore this picture.
Look at those baby blues!
Look at those baby blues!
My handsome guy
And I can’t forget this handsome guy.
2 thoughts on “Fall family photos

Leave a Reply

