Five Minute Friday: Laundry

Today’s Five Minute Friday word is laundry. When I received the email with the word prompt, I immediately deleted it. I enjoy this occasional writing activity, but am selective about the weeks I participate based on the word and if I feel that I have something noteworthy to share. Laundry certainly did not fit that bill.

But then I remembered a brief moment of sheer joy last week when I completed what seemed like endless loads of laundry. After folding all the t-shirts and bottoms, I, per usual, tackled the sock pile (i.e., the bane of my existence). It was quite the pile of dress socks, work out socks, and Bridget’s cute little socks now that sandal season is behind us (sigh!). As I matched colors with each other and moved those matches to another pile, the original pile had dwindled, and eventually was down to two. And two socks that matched! Hallelujah! My first laundry day in as long as I can remember when I didn’t have the folded sock pile accompanied by a smaller pile of orphans.

I smiled to myself, and then shared my good news with Brian, who chuckled and then went back to the football game. I felt an urge to post on Facebook, but then reality-checked myself that no one else would care about this meaningless event. So when this week’s word was laundry, I thought here’s my opportunity to share my news.

It’s subtle events like this that remind us that sometimes, it’s the little things in life…

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Laundry

  1. Okay, this actually made me laugh OUT LOUD. When I saw the prompt, I wanted to skip it too!! I mean, laundry?!?! Ugh. But I’m glad I did, mainly so that I could read this post. I’m still giggling, picturing your husband wondering why you were so happy.

    A few weeks ago, I cried uncle and tossed all my solo socks. I must have had thirty in there. I’m already back up to four. How? How does this happen?!?!

    Anyway, sweet post, thanks for sharing.

    Jenn

Leave a Reply

