My vacation to-do list

Tomorrow kicks off the annual L-family vacation. As I shared last year, family vacation is a pillar of our family. It’s a chance for all seven families to spend solid, quality time together for more than a day or two around the holidays, and I am beyond excited.

Aside from the last-minute shopping trip and dreaded packing of the car, I have other very important items to cross off my to-do list on this year’s vacation:

  • Eat a lot of my mother-in-law’s macaroni salad. My taste buds are elated.
  • Run through the sprinkler with Bridget and her cousins (all 9 of them!).
  • Win the family dance-off to my summer jam, “Cruise (featuring Nelly).” I got a text message from my 10-year-old niece that this is happening so I guess I’m in.
  • Sip champagne with my mother-in-law and “sisters” on the Caribbean Island raft tied to the dock. Pre-Bridget, this is where you would find me most of vacation, so I’ll see if I can sneak in an hour here and there while she naps.
  • Walk the 5-mile lake in the morning and enjoy the peaceful, beautiful sights. Hopefully Bridget enjoys the views and quiet as much as we do.
  • Reunite with the sand bar with Bridget and a raft in tow.
  • Play a game of corn hole. I haven’t played in two years, and wonder if I still have it.
  • Play sand volleyball. It has also been two years since I played and I’m almost positive I don’t have it anymore.
  • Enjoy a late night conversation with my hubby on the dock while our feet dangle in the water.
  • Take Bridget to the local kid’s water park for the first time. I’ve never been, but I am so excited to see her splash around in her new tutu bathing suit.
  • Read the rest of The Five People Your Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom before I meet him in August.
  • Try to remember how to play Euchre before I quit or give up for the umpteenth time. I really need to expand my card game repertoire beyond rummy and war.
  • Find an old window pane at the local flea market in Amish Country. I think it would go well next to my “new” vase.
  • Disconnect from the world wide web.
  • Take an afternoon nap. There is no laundry, dishes, or work to keep me from this one.
  • Play with my nieces and nephews. I love these kids dearly and am so looking forward to making crafts, playing at the beach, and watching them jump off the dock.
  • Stay up later than 10:00 but only if I can sleep in later than 5:30. Come on, Bridget!
  • Take lots of pictures and videos.
  • Maybe play a game of Kings? Ok, let’s not get crazy.
  • Take boat rides.
  • Try not to overeat. Who am I kidding? If you’ve ever had my mother and father-in-law’s cooking, you would laugh at me for even including this one on the list.
  • And lastly: Enjoy. Every. Minute.

Vacation 2013, here we come!

3 thoughts on “My vacation to-do list

  1. Have a Great time!!!! See you when you guys get back. Don’t worry if you don’t find a window pane…I have Tons of old ones! see you soon!

Leave a Reply

