Daddy’s girl

I always said that once Bridget realizes that her Dad is way cooler than her Mom, she’ll be a Daddy’s girl. It’s officially begun.

This past weekend, I was in Chicago for work. Other than a few date nights and our annual Michigan football game in Ann Arbor, this was my first extended period of time away from Bridget. I was feeling a little sad and guilty leaving over a weekend, but found consolation in knowing she was with Brian.

When I travel for a conference, there isn’t much time to do anything other than work. Our days begin around 7:30 am and end after group dinners which typically turn into a night cap drink at the hotel bar (aka, way past my bedtime). But during the rush of the day, I still wondered what Brian and Bridget were up to back home. Brian kept me well informed of all the fun they were having together: playing outside, drawing with sidewalk chalk, enjoying Bridget’s new princess tent that she had to have, running around the playground at the mall, reading stories, and the list goes on. He included me as best he could from 500 miles away with these pictures and some quality FaceTime (thank you, Steve Jobs).

Brian and Bridget in the tent
Brian and Bridget in the tent
Sidewalk artwork: "We love u mom"
Sidewalk artwork: “We love u mom”

Since I returned home, I’ve noticed more of these beautiful moments between them. What makes these moments incredible to witness is that I am learning about the special relationship between a father and daughter for the first time…and I’m loving every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

