Happy National Single Parents’ Day

A few years ago, Brian and I were chosen to represent the newlyweds (married less than five years) on a cruise game show, Love & Marriage. The contestants who had been married for 40+ years were asked how they did it. The husband’s response (in a Spanish accent) was: “50/50. Everything’s gotta be 50/50.” His statement was simple, yet wise; and much appreciated as a young couple early in our journey.

The same could be said for parenting, which Brian and I have adopted as a practice with Bridget. Brian drops her off at day care, I pick her up. I feed her in the morning, Brian feeds her at bedtime… So far, so good.

But what about those parents who are 100, 100% of the time? Today, March 21, is National Single Parents’ Day as declared in 1984, ironically the year I was born to a single mother; and a fabulous one to boot.

My mom, Kathi, sacrificed most of her adult life to raise me. She never once complained; never once made me feel like a burden; never once gave up; never once made me wonder what it would be like if our situation was different. Instead, she worked harder than most, loved me unconditionally and made sure I knew it every day, kept going when times were probably tough, played “Dad” better than many, and made me grateful for our situation.

Today, I salute my dear Mom; my best friend, my biggest supporter, and Grams to my sweet baby, Bridget. Thank you for all that you have done for me and now my family. I love you more than you know.

20130321-130946.jpg

5 thoughts on “Happy National Single Parents’ Day

  1. Honey, that was absolutely the most beautiful thing and made me burst into tears. Knowing you feel that way about me is the greatest gify a mother could have. Thank you from the bottom of my heart! much love, Mom

  2. ok….. I love reading your blog, but I feel like there should be a warning alert when tissues are needed! You truly are blessed with such a wonderful mom, and I am proud to have witnessed the love she has for you over the years. ( I mean I was around A LOT!!!!) Love you both so much!

  3. This post made me cry. Kathi, you are an absolutely amazing woman. Thank you for turning Shannon into a beautiful, confident, loving and smart woman. Shan, you are a beautiful person inside and out. I am so thankful to have you as one of my very best friends.

Leave a Reply

