Having fun with my “new” camera

The day after our family photo session earlier this fall, the photographer posted her camera for sale on Facebook. In a spur-of-the-moment decision, I bought it, and I could not be more pleased with the purchase. Although it’s not technically new, it is new to me (and so are all of the settings!).

Inspired by an idea on Pinterest, I hosted a mini photo shoot with our very own “model.” The best part is that it didn’t cost a dime and required no preparation: No backdrop needed; the bloomers were from a dress Bridget wore for my cousin’s wedding; and I used her everyday hat and a string of lights recently purchased to fill the bottom part of our pre-lit Christmas tree whose lights are nearing the end of their life. I’m in love with these pictures (or maybe I’m just in love with the model).

She's looking at her Dad; the person who can make her smile and laugh better than anyone.
She’s looking at her Dad; the person who can make her smile and laugh better than anyone.
Bridget has always been fascinated by light so I love the wonder she has in this one.
Bridget has always been fascinated by light so I love the wonder she has in this one.

As I mentioned above, there are A LOT of settings on the camera, and I have so much to learn. The lighting I used cast a shadow behind Bridget which kind of ruined this picture, but I had to share anyway. She is such a ham showing off her two teeth. I laugh out loud every time I look at it.

DSC_0051 - Copy

Bridget is now six months old, and each month is more fun than the previous one. I’m glad to have my new camera to capture memories from our journey.

3 thoughts on “Having fun with my “new” camera

Leave a Reply

