Joining my family in front of the camera

I love taking pictures. I have hundreds of pictures from Bridget’s first few months of life: her first bottle, first bath, first trip to church, etc. I also have many pictures of Brian holding Bridget or her napping on his chest. But, as I put together her birth photo book and the beginning of her baby photo book, I realized that there aren’t many pictures of her and I. I’m typically the one behind the camera trying to capture those firsts and the beautiful sight of Brian and her together through my eyes.

Knowing that I will want pictures of her and I to help us remember the memories we are creating each day, I decided to book a family photo session with a professional photographer and be relieved of camera duty. All I wanted to worry about was choosing the right outfits and showing up. No “Can you take one of us?” or “Hold her like this.” or “Can you zoom in?” or setting the self-timer and scrambling to get in position within 10 seconds.

I am so happy with my decision. It was worth every penny. April from April G Photography captured these amazing pictures of our family and I will be forever grateful.

View the full album.

I am going to make a greater effort to get in front of the camera more often because although I’m savoring these moments as they come, I also recognize that memories inevitably fade with time. These pictures will help me remember.

5 thoughts on “Joining my family in front of the camera

Leave a Reply

