Five Minute Friday: Connect

This week’s Five Minute Friday word is connect. I found this word challenging. All I could think of when I read the word connect was Bridget’s link toys that connect with each other. I was determined to write about something more substantial than those, so hopefully I did.

If you’re unfamiliar with Five Minute Friday, click here for more details and feel free to join us!

CONNECT…

I am not a spontaneous person. As much as traveling the world or sky diving on a Saturday afternoon may sound appealing, it’s not me. I’ve had the same job since I graduated college; I call my Mom at 5:30 every day; we order pizza every Sunday and watch Jeopardy every night. I am a person of routine and I like it this way.

But when our sweet Bridget joined our family in May, that routine changed. When will she eat? When was her last diaper change? What time will we get her to sleep tonight? Will we get her to sleep? I now wake up and soak in her morning smiles, we take a walk around the neighborhood, and then I hold her while she naps. When Brian gets home, I catch him up on her day, we give her a bath, feed her, and rock her to sleep.

And then we tiptoe upstairs, climb in bed, lay our tired heads on the pillows, hold hands, and talk. Not about feedings or diaper changes, but about our day, and us, and our future as a family. It’s 30 minutes where we connect again as Brian and Shannon.

I find myself really enjoying this new routine. Unfortunately it’s just in time to go back to work. But, if I can squeeze those lovely smiles from Bridget and time to reconnect with my husband out of every day, I’ll be just fine with the our new routine.

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Connect

  1. My kids are teens now but my, you took me back to those early years when nothing is certain and routine is a dusty book on the shelf. I hope your finding some peace in the newness that can often rock your world. Nice to meet you through FMF.

Leave a Reply

