Five Minute Friday: Beyond

I recently discovered The Gypsy Mama, and her very cool weekly writer’s flash mob called Five Minute Friday, where people write for five minutes on the same topic and share it on her blog. I figured I would give it a shot. Here are her rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.

This week’s topic is “Beyond.” Here goes…

I’m amazed at how much I’ve learned this past year about myself, my husband, our marriage, and our sweet baby girl, Bridget. Beyond the pains of labor and delivery were big blue eyes gazing back at me. Beyond the sleepless nights are beautiful smiles. Beyond the long day is a precious yawn. Beyond the endless walking, rocking, and bouncing is a heartbeat against mine and tiny arms wrapped around me. And beyond the fear of the unknown is the true joy of being a mother.

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Beyond

  1. Beyond the frustration of not getting time together is knowing that our bond grows stronger everday, and absense truly does make our love grow. I could never get enough of you, Shannon Lichty.

  2. It never ceases to amaze me just how much motherhood can teach you.

    You have a beautiful baby girl! Enjoy every moment. Even the hard ones.

    Visiting from Five Minute Friday! If you’re needing encouragement you’ve come to the right place. Lisa-Jo is the cheerleader for mommies! :)

  3. Visiting from the 5 Minute Friday. Your baby girl is precious and your husband gets an A+++++ for leaving such a lovely comment for you! My kids are grown (two adult, 9 and 12). It’s so fun to watch them grow! Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

