The good stuff: Round one

In 2002, Kenny Chesney released his smash hit, The Good Stuff, which topped the charts for seven straight weeks, and is still one of my favorite songs today. Even if you don’t like Kenny or country music, anyone can appreciate this song. Download it or read the lyrics here.

This past weekend, I ventured out of the house alone for the first time since Bridget was born. I was driving down Route 3 when The Good Stuff came on the radio and since I was sans baby, I turned the volume up and sang along. This song gets me every time. It’s such a beautiful message: enjoy the little things in life…they’re the good stuff.

While I appreciate these things as they’re happening, it’s not as easy to remember them as time passes. So, I am going to use our sweet simple life blog to share with you “the good stuff” that makes each week worth remembering (and also for my own benefit to have for reference).

Starting with last week…

  • Bridget is starting to smile beautifully and often, and it’s amazing and contagious.
  • My sister-in-law, Jenny, was a featured success story for Weight Watchers after losing 130 pounds. Go, Jenny!
  • Bridget is sleeping through the night in her own crib. Yay for a good night’s sleep!
  • We celebrated my cousin and oldest friend, Erin’s, upcoming wedding at her bachelorette dinner and shower. I could not be happier that she found her future husband, Tommy. They are the definition of a perfect match and I am honored to be part of their special day in September.
  • Bridget and I spent a weekday visiting with my Mom and Grandparents. Their love for her warms my heart. I will miss days like that when I go back to work.
  • I was able to catch up with old friends, Erin, Ashley, and Tiffany. While we don’t see each other as often as I wish, it’s like no time has passed when we’re back together.
  • Bridget got to meet her many, many cousins (second, third, etc.) at the shower.
  • I tried a new recipe and it was quick, easy, healthy, and delicious.
  • Brian and I made it through our first movie rental in months: Jeff, Who Lives at Home. I gave it 7 stars.

Looking forward to this week!

One thought on “The good stuff: Round one

  1. Sounds like a some VERY good stuff. I totally agree: that song really makes you appreciate the everyday miracles all around. Congrats to Erin and Tommy! And I can’t wait to see that little angel’s smiles in person!

Leave a Reply

